Dignity for All Students Act

The Dignity for All Students Act is an official policy of New York State that requires all students in public schools to have the right to an education free of discrimination and harassment. The information included on this page and the links provided are the resources to help students, parents, and guardians understand what this law means and how it is to be put into practice by the district.

Reporting Procedures

When a student reports that he or she has been bullied or harassed to any adult the following procedures will be followed:

  1. Complaint received from the student.
  2. Adult/student refers complaint to Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC) within 1 day. The adult must submit a written account of the complaint to the Dignity Act Coordinator within 2 days of receiving the complaint.
  3. Dignity Act Coordinator logs complaint: date and time received, name of referral source, date and time. District Compliance Officer is notified by the DAC.
  4. DAC conducts investigation within one day. Log is kept: names of complainant, witnesses, dates and times of interview(s).
  5. DAC submits written summary of finding to District Compliance Officer (DCO) and any actions taken to remedy the complaint.
  6. DCO reviews investigation; concurs or modifies actions taken. Logs report with date, time and solution/remediation.
  7. DCO/Superintendent will report to the Board of Education (BOE) quarterly.

Click here to download the DASA Complaint Form


Building Resources for Students

Name Grade Levels Position Phone Email
Jen Carnahan * K-1
2-3
Principal 315-697-2027 jcarnahan@canastotacsd.org
Melissa Stanek * 4-6 Principal 315-697-2029 mstanek@canastotacsd.org
Jay Altobello* 7-12 Principal 315-697-2003 jaltobello@canastotacsd.org
Stanley Congden 7-12 Asst. Principal 315-697-2003 scongden@canastotacsd.org
Roseann Gardinier 4-7 Nurse 315-697-6341 rgardinier@canastotacsd.org
Ellen Trapp 4-7 Psychologist 315-697-8805 etrapp@canastotacsd.org
Dylan Gifford 4-8 Counselor 315-697-6326 dgifford@canastotacsd.org
Brenda Jenkins 8-12 Psychologist 315-697-8805 bjenkins@canastotacsd.org
Amelia Berezein K-3 Social Worker 315-697-6372 aberezein@canastotacsd.org
Amanda Schlegel K-3 Psychologist 315-697-2029 aschlegel@canastotacsd.org
June Clarke District Office Superintendent of Schools 315-697-6302 jclarke@canastotacsd.org
Jason Mitchell** District Office Asst. Superintendent 315-697-6302 jmitchell@canastotacsd.org
Jason Stefanski K-1
2-3
Asst. Principal 315-697-2027 jstefanski@canastotacsd.org
  • * Dignity Act Coordinators (DAC)                                   ** District Compliance Officer (DCO)