Dignity for All Students Act (DASA)

The Dignity for All Students Act is an official policy of New York State that requires all students in public schools to have the right to an education free of discrimination and harassment. The information included on this page and the links provided are the resources to help students, parents, and guardians understand what this law means and how it is to be put into practice by the district.

Reporting Procedures

When a student reports that he or she has been bullied or harassed to any adult the following procedures will be followed:

  1. Complaint received from the student.
  2. Adult/student refers complaint to Dignity Act Coordinator (DAC) within 1 day. The adult must submit a written account of the complaint to the Dignity Act Coordinator within 2 days of receiving the complaint.
  3. Dignity Act Coordinator logs complaint: date and time received, name of referral source, date and time. District Compliance Officer is notified by the DAC.
  4. DAC conducts investigation within one day. Log is kept: names of complainant, witnesses, dates and times of interview(s).
  5. DAC submits written summary of finding to District Compliance Officer (DCO) and any actions taken to remedy the complaint.
  6. DCO reviews investigation; concurs or modifies actions taken. Logs report with date, time and solution/remediation.
  7. DCO/Superintendent will report to the Board of Education (BOE) quarterly.

Click here to view the Incident Reporting Procedures for 2021-2022

Building Resources for Students

Name Grade Levels Position Phone Email
Jen Carnahan * K-1 Principal 315-697-2027 jcarnahan@canastotacsd.org
Vanessa McClowry* 2-3 Principal 315-697-6372 vmcclowry@canastotacsd.org
Karen Henner* 4-6 Principal 315-697-2029 khenner@canastotacsd.org 
Jeffrey Bryant* 7-12 Principal 315-697-2003 jbryant@canastotacsd.org
Stanley Congden 11-12 Asst. Principal 315-697-2003 scongden@canastotacsd.org
Kristen Fox 7-10 Asst. Principal 315-697-2003 kfox@canastotacsd.org
Dylan Gifford 4-8 Counselor 315-697-6326 dgifford@canastotacsd.org
Brenda Jenkins 9-12 Director of Pupil Personnel Services 315-697-8805 bjenkins@canastotacsd.org
Amanda Schlegel K-3 Psychologist 315-697-2029 aschlegel@canastotacsd.org
Shawn Bissetta District Office Superintendent of Schools 315-697-6302 sbissetta@canastotacsd.org

* Dignity Act Coordinators (DAC)                                   ** District Compliance Officer (DCO)